Violence Prevention Working Group 

The Violence Prevention Workgroup (VPWG) operates under the auspices of the National Prevention Science Coalition (NPSC) which, in turn, is comprised of approximately 700 social science scholars, researchers, practitioners, advocates, and clinicians who are dedicated to translating scientific knowledge into effective and sustainable practices, systems, and policies.  We discuss current and upcoming events and invite scholars to present their ongoing work.  Over the next few months, the VPWG will develop specific strategies to broaden the adoption of evidence-practices and policies.

The VPWG hosts monthly video meetings on the prevention of violence, utilizing multiple perspectives and disciplines. Our speakers present on a topic of the their choice. We only ask that they include a discussion on policy advocacy. These meetings are open to individuals who have a keen interest in or are part of violence prevention initiatives.  For now, the NPSC is proudly sharing these videos with our entire membership; however, we plan to restrict these in the future for paying members only.  Prominent speakers (to name a few) have included:

  • Dr. Jeffrey Butts, Director of the Research & Evaluation Center at John Jay College of Criminal Justice

  • Dr. Dennis Embry, Senior Scientist at PAXIS Institute

  • Danielle Sered, Executive Director of Common Justice and Author of, Until We Reckon: Violence, Mass Incarceration, and a Road to Repair

Get Involved
MEET THE MEMBERS

DR. MICHAEL GREENE

Co-Chair

Rutgers University

mbgchef@gmail.com

Curricula Vitae

http://www.mbgreeneconsulting.com/

DR. MINDY WILLING

Co-Chair

mwilling.npscoalition@gmail.com

Dr. Steven Berkowitz

University of Pennsylvania

Steven.Berkowitz@uphs.upenn.edu

Mr. Luis Cardona

County Gov’t

luis.cardona@montgomerycountymd.gov

Ms. Kayla DeCant

kayladecant@gmail.com

Dr. Dennis Embry

PAXIS Institute

dde@paxis.org

Dr. Dorothy Espelage

UNC-Chapel Hill

espelage@ufl.edu 

Dr. Diana Fishbein

Penn State University

dfishbein@psu.edu

Ms. Faith Fuller

faithefuller@gmail.com

Dr. Abigail Gewirtz

University of Minnesota

agewirtz@umn.edu

Dr. Phillip Graham

pgraham@rti.org

Ms. Bevin Gwiazdowski

GWIAZDOWSB@email.chop.edu

Dr. Stephanie Hawkins

RTI

Hawkins@rti.org

Dr. Robin Jenkins

UNC-CH

rjenkins2338@gmail.com

Dr. Shameka Johnson

shameka.n.johnson@howard.edu

Dr. Sharon Kingston 

kingstos@dickinson.edu

Dr. Laurel Kiser

UMSOM

lkiser@gmail.com

Ms. Kristen Krackle

OJJDP

Kristen.Kracke@usdoj.gov

Dr. Jaime Lagunez

jlagunez@gmail.com

Dr. Phillip Leaf

Johns Hopkins

pleaf@jhu.edu

Ms. Stephanie Mann

Safe Kids Now

safeneighborhoods@gmail.com

Dr. Jennifer Matjasko

HTO9@cdc.gov

Dr. Barbara Melamed

Behavior Medicine Associates & Hawaii University

bmelamed@hawaii.edu

Dr. Kristin Moore

Child Trends

kmoore@childtrends.org

Dr. Michael B. Mushlin

mmushlin@law.pace.edu

Dr. John Roman

NORC

roman-john@NORC.org

Dr. Arthur Romano

George Mason University

Aromano7@gmu.edu

Dr. Peter Scharf

LSU HSC

pschar@lsuhsc.edu

Bonnie Seilier

drseiler2008@aol.com

Julia Silva

APA

jsilva@apa.org

Dr. Sharon Stephan

UMSOM

sstephan@psych.umaryland.edu

Dr. Brandon Stratford

Child Trends

bstratford@childtrends.org

Dr. Brita Theadford

Sisterhood Inc. & Rowan University

drbritat@gmail.com

Dr. Michael Vanyukov
University of Pittsburgh

mmv@pitt.edu

Mr. Bobby Vassar

Legislative Chief Counsel (retired)

bobby.vassar@gmail.com

Dr. Rebecca Vivrette

UMSOM

rvivrett@psych.umaryland.edu

Dr. Geroma Void

OJJDP

Geroma.Void@usdoj.gov

Dr. Daniel Webster 

dwebster@jhu.edu

Dr. Monica Wendel

University of Louisville

Monica.wendel@louisville.edu

Dr. Jacob Werblow

Central Connecticut State University

werblowjac@ccsu.edu

Dr. Anna Yaros

ayaros@rti.org

Dr. Xan Young

American Institute for Research

xyoung@air.org

© 2020 by NPSC.

Questions/comments, contact: Jbair@c-trans.org